Perspective

You see this photo here?  It was taken December 24, 1981 — I was a mere 22 days old.

Christmas - Baby Em,Mom,Patrick

See this?  This young woman is my mother (age 23)  with her 18 month old son, and 3-week old daughter.  She looks happy, doesn’t she?  Of course she is ridiculously pale (I blame the blustery Cincinnati winters), but happy nonetheless. 

And THAT is what blows my mind!!

Did you know that the day they brought me home from the hospital, my father was laid-off from his job?  There they were, a young couple with a mortgage and now TWO helpless mouths to feed and no income!  My mom was on maternity leave, unable to get a job even if she wanted to!  Ugh, the struggles of young couples is astounding sometimes, isn’t it? 

But they were able to pull it together.  My brother and I did not go hungry, and here we are almost 28 years later telling about it.

I guess the reason I’m thinking about this lately is due to this damn recession.  It has absolutely body slammed me into the worst depression, and I’m having a miserable time trying to beat it.  I’ve always been so optimistic, but right now the whole world is black — despite how much I want to make it seem okay.  So, I’m looking at this photo trying to gain some inspiration from it.

My mom was able to smile at Christmas, knowing they were in a real pickle – with a horrible case of postpartum depression – with needy children – in the dark Winter of 1981.  Shouldn’t I be able to do the same?

PS. By the way, doesn’t my brother look so queer in his green velvet little outfit and page boy haircut?  Those haircuts … were a mainstay in the family on ALL 3 OF US for YEARS!!  Oh, the photos that line my parents’ hallway is an inveritable Wall of Shame!!

5 Responses to Perspective

  1. No matter how bad things get always remember two things:

    1) It could always be worse.
    2) There’s always someone out there that would kill to be in your position (whatever that may be).

    I know the puppy can put you into funky moods too but try not to let it get you down. Also remember, that if you need to talk you have my phone number.

    Hang in there, Em!

  2. Dani says:

    I hate to get all counsel-y on you, but it’s not fair to yourself to compare your reactions, emotions and thoughts to those of anyone else. Even in remarkably similar situations people will react in their own individual way. Your mother responded to hardship with sustained joy, maybe you are wired to react in some other, equally correct, fashion.

    On a lighter note, I’m kinda glad I’m not the only one who rocked that haircut well into elementary school.

  3. Em says:

    You know what, Dani? You are correct about that! I guess since I’m having a hard time “beating it”, I’m just sinking further into it, which is kinda lame. Thanks for the Perspective (which, ironically is the title of this post). Ha!

    As far as the haircut goes … if you think it was kinda silly in the 80’s, I feel even sorrier for my little brother who is now 11. He had that haircut in the 2000’s until he was six or seven when my sister finally broke the cycle of torture and took him to a hair stylist. (I wish we would’ve had some intervention like that when we were kids). LOL

  4. Jessica says:

    Why is it those pictures have to be on display? I mean…mom, seriously. The time you gave me a haircut and that one year i thought bubblewrap was a cool accessory…they really can go into “permanent storage” (aka the trashcan)

    oh, and things will get better…though right now it’s all doom & gloom. I blame the media cause it’s probably not as bad as they’re making it out to be…

Leave a Reply

