Fighting For Air

Well, this is definitely the season for physical challenge-type fundraising events, isn’t it?  What do you think about it?  Personally, I think it’s great!  Gives people something challenging to do, it’s a healthy way to raise money, from where I stand it looks like no one loses, except perhaps those who are denied vehicular access to their routine streets due to a foot race of some sort on an early Saturday morning.

On the morning of Halloween, I got my ass out of bed at 4:45am to gather with thousands of other Orlando’ians at the beautiful Lake Eola for the Making Strides for Breast Cancer Annual 5K.  It was a gorgeous Fall morning and I was glad to get my exercise out of the way early … but geez!  4:45am is WAY too early for this girl who only managed about 3 hours of sleep, and I wasn’t very sociable or patient with anyone. 

I wasn’t planning on running the entire route, because I was with a group, but I did plan to at least move quickly.  I guess the group had a different idea and thought it was a great opportunity to STROLL along for 3.1 miles partaking in idle conversation.  I tried to be polite.  I tried to get over it and just go with the flow.  But, after 5 minutes of shuffling my feet along, barely moving, in a sea of slow moving people the world started to crumble and my claustrophobia hit its peak!  I took off like a bat out of hell.  I didn’t even turn around to tell the group “Good-bye”.  I have no problem with the people who walk throughout the 5K’s … it’s exercise anyway you look at it I guess.  But, come on people!  At least pick up the pace a little!

It took a few minutes to master my strategy, but after about 3 minutes of stealthily sliding between people and maneuvering past large groups which seemed to spread across the entire city street, I had made it into some fresh air.  It was then I wished I had brought my iPod, but I listened to the volunteers on every street corner routing and cheering us on; I eavesdropped on conversations as I passed people; I challenged a group of teenage boys to a sprint (they crushed me); I hummed a song that was stuck in my head for awhile; I passed by the cutest little girls who had just woken up and still had princess pajamas on, but they wanted to come outside and cheer.  Finally, it was all over.  I was so hungry I left without waiting for my slow group, forgot to check my time … which is okay considering I was just there for the exercise and my time was probably nothing to write home about anyway.

So now the next challenge is the Fight For Air Climb, which is presented by the American Lung Association.  I will be competing with thousands of others to be the fastest to race up 25 flights of stairs to the top of the Bank of America Center in downtown Orlando.  I’ve already registered, however before I can officially participate, I must collect $100 in donations.  I believe I am only in need of $80 according to the last time I looked, so if you are looking for an opportunity to give SOMETHING, ANYTHING to a worthy cause, this is IT!

Here is the website that will take you directly to my sponsorship page.  Please leave a few bucks – and take the tax deduction!  And then leave me a comment … how fast do you think I should complete the 25 flights?  Because honestly, I haven’t the foggiest idea what “good time” would be.  I’m really just looking for a different way to work my legs and burn calories.  The event is on November 14th, and the City Boy will be in attendance, camera on the ready!  I hope to have good footage (and hopefully a ribbon) to show as a souvenir.

Don’t forget to donate!!

Leave a Reply

