Moving on Up …

Last night I realized that I really have no business being in human relationships.  It’s funny how through the course of one conversation I had reduced myself to tears, feeling completely inadequate in having anything of meaning to contribute to anybody.  Needless to say, having so much time away from the City Boy these last 2 months has taken its toll on me.  But, the good news is that the sun rose today and apparently he still thinks I have SOMETHING to offer (awaiting results of what that actually is). 

More news on our front: we set a time to start the migration Northward.  Two years (give or take), and we are looking seriously at Columbus, OH.  I would like us to live in a culturally diverse place, with career opportunities, that’s close to our families without being TOO close.  Columbus seems to fit the bill.  The only real Cons in this result is: A) having to pay state income tax again and B) the damn cold!!  But, we’ll FINALLY have a basement, and having more opportunity to enjoy the OTHER parts of life that don’t include climate or taxes.  So, all in all I think it’ll be a good fit for us.

I am opting to NOT discuss this with my family until at least, after our wedding.  I know if I let this cat out of the bag any sooner my mom will nag and nag and nag about it until I may consider changing my mind entirely.

I guess the only thing that’s really “pending” to seal the deal for us is the state of cultural diversity.  The fact is: our kids will be different.  We don’t want to raise them in a segregated environment.  Luckily, I found a group in the Central Ohio area that fosters to and creates a network of inter-racial couples, and children of all ethnicities.  I sent an email this morning to their coordinator asking more probing questions about Columbus, specifically.  I am hoping for a swift response from her, but we’ll see.  If you know about this, please feel free to share your thoughts.

I just can’t imagine raising my kids in Florida … I mean, what’s the point of living in a climate that encourages outdoor activities if you don’t even feel like your kids are safe enough to venture outside alone?  The City Boy, being raised in – duh – the city, laughs at me when I talk about how when I was a kid in the metro Cincinnati area.  In the summertime we ran around the neighborhood, playing in people’s houses, yards, the woods, the lake at the end of our street.  Our only concern was being home in time for dinner … and this wasn’t THAT long ago!  The truth is, Florida is a HAVEN (for some unknown reason) for sex offenders and perverts.  I can’t stand the fact that little girls are taken, raped, killed by people straight off the street — and within their own family networks.  Ugh, but that’s a whole other post.

The point here is: we are heading North … within the next 2 years.  Truthfully, I think we would already be planning it if I hadn’t just bought this house in July.  The market here is still in the toilet, and I’ll have to do quite a bit of research to determine if it would be worth the risk to rent it out right now.  We shall see.

I am still a little in shock that we’ve come to this conclusion.  We both LOVE the sunshine, the beaches, the freedom of not being tethered to those we love (I know, it sounds bad).  Even though I miss my family, there’s a part of me that really likes being “away” … but I know that once babies are in the picture I will most likely change my tune and want to be surrounded by loving characters to play a role in their lives.

The planner in me is sitting here, laptop on the ready, thinking … OK, that’s 24 months!  I’ve already got several items on my internal to-do list.  So, let’s get this wedding over with (only 6 more months to go!) so we can get on with starting over someplace new. 

I love moving!!  What about you?

Leave a Reply

